Image

Back home!!!!

Oh hello, Jean

You will not believe this but I was just about to write to you when I received your last message. Yes . . . I am in Edinburgh. And yes . . . it was indeed to escape Norman. He was becoming rather possessive and a bit of a control freak. Can you believe this? He actually told me to give up the ukulele in favour of playing on his horn!! I told him what he could do with his horn and I don’t think I will be seeing him again. You were right about him all along, Jean. I am so glad to have your constant advice.

So . . . you can guess that I just did not have time to tell you of my sudden departure to Edinburgh. The rather racy blue saloon you mentioned was, in fact, a taxi which took me to Darlington station. I know that I could have got a train from Saltburn but Norman lives there and I did not want to meet up with him or any of his cronies.

But wait till you hear my news!! How strange that you should mention Morningside!! As I had not booked ahead, I got off the train at Waverley and took those foreign coins to a dealer just off Princes Street and he gave me £150 for the lot!! He said they weren’t worth that much but as I looked like a nice old lady, he would take pity on me and take them off my hands for that sum. He was not a good businessman, he said, as he had too soft a heart!!

As you can imagine, I felt that a cream tea in a lovely old tea-rooms was on the cards. Followed by a cab to Morningside and straight to Abbotsford Crescent – number 13!! As luck would have it, our old family home is now a bed and breakfast!! And the sign in the drawing room window read ‘Vacancies’. My heart was in my mouth! I rang the bell and a lady called Lucy let me in. I told her our story about it being our family home and she was fascinated. She showed me around! My, how it has changed!! I took some pictures and will try to attach them here.

She lives there with her husband who is some kind of architect and very knowledgeable about Auld Edinburgh. He met his match with me, of course, and he said that I had added to his “store of knowledge”! They also have a cat called Rabbie which speaks in different languages. And get this, Jean!  My room is actually father’s old study on the first floor!

I must go now, dear. I am about to go down for breakfast – scrambled egg with smoked salmon!! I’m going to try the kedgeree tomorrow morning.

I’ll see you in a few days. Hope I can attach the photographs properly.

Much love.

Morag

PS Shocked at what you and The Laird have been talking about. I haven’t even met a gay person, let alone performed in front of one. (to my knowledge!). Will they appreciate my ukulele do you think?

Leave a comment